Thinking About The Summer’s End

20130829-133556.jpg

Now that summer’s winding down, the cardinal vine decides to bloom! To be fair, I did start the seeds late. They do look nice next to the morning glories.

Speaking of summer winding down, I was enjoying being in the garden this morning and thinking about the change in seasons. I guess I do mostly love our Michigan weather. But if I could skip the harsh, bitter cold, no sunshine days, and the long, seems like forever, wait for spring, I would opt to skip it. For a while there we were cheating a little and jumping down to Georgia or Florida in March and April for a jump start on spring, sometimes (most times) coming back to still nasty, cold weather. But it was definitely worth the trip to be coastal for a week. I came back with visions of what I would do in the garden, how I would enjoy our outside spaces. Three springs ago we made a “Savannah Room,” inspired by all the beauty of Savannah, the courtyards, the lush green foliage, the fountains.

20130829-133549.jpg

Daddy Long Legs!

20130829-133540.jpg

Under the Wisteria

20130829-133533.jpg

More flowers. These are the Flying Saucer Morning Glories.

 

20130829-122021.jpg

Another shot of the Colocasia

Leave a Reply

